On Reading

I’m an avid reader, have been since I was very young. I credit my mother for instilling in my a love of books and fostering it by accumulating a large family library. A few years back, I began keeping a journal of all the books I read and what my thoughts were on them. It’s been a great exercise and it’s nice when I forget whether I’ve read a book before or not.

When I read for pleasure, I like to take my time and really enjoy a book. If it’s not an assignment, I don’t read it like one. That’s what makes reading for pleasure so much fun – the fact that I can re-read sentences to wring them of every drop of meaning and appreciate their construction. I don’t feel pressure to finish it in by some deadline, I feel enjoyment in the fact that I can immerse myself in it.

So here’s a list of the books I’ve read in the last 6 years:

Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown
Franny and Zooey by J. D. Salinger
How Movie Helped Save My Soul by Gareth Higgins, PhD
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
Through Painted Deserts by Donald Miller
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
The Ankeny Briefcase: A Short Fiction Collection Edited by Jordan Green, Ariele Gentiles and Kimberly Culbertson
The Language of God – A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief by Francis S. Collins
A Heart Breaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers
The Areas of My Expertise by John Hodgman
Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto by Chuck Klosterman
Blankets by Craig Thompson
Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller
On The Beach by Nevil Shute
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
The Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkien (edited by Christopher Tolkien)
Eleanor Rigby by Douglas Coupland
The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall
You Shall Know Our Velocity! by Dave Eggers
Into the Wild by John Krakauer
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
All Families Are Psychotic by Douglas Coupland
What is the What by Dave Eggers
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Watchmen by Alan Moore, Illustrated by Dave Gibbons
The Road by Cormac McCarthy
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
Through a Screen Darkly by Jeffrey Overstreet
Downtown Owl by Chuck Klosterman
Mike Nelson’s Mind Over Matters by Michael J. Nelson
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
More Information Than You Require by John Hodgman
Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Killing Yourself to Live or 85% of a True Story by Chuck Klosterman
The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton
Q&A (Slumdog Millionaire) by Vikas Swarup
Barrel Fever by David Sedaris
White Bicycles: Making Music in the Sixties by Joe Boyd
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
Me Talk Pretty One Day by Davis Sedaris
The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller
The Wild Things by Dave Eggers
Eating the Dinosaur by Chuck Klosterman
Miss Wyoming by Douglas Coupland
Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger 
Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Fargo Rock City by Chuck Klosterman
Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay
The Girl Who Played With Fire by Steig Larsson
Tree of Codes by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Hot Zone by Richard Preston
World War Z by Max Brooks
Habibi by Craig Thompson
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Typhoid Mary: Captive to the Public’s Health by Judith Walzer Leavitt
Micro by Michael Crichton and Richard Preston
Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain by Oliver Sacks
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

And I have many books in my queue to read soon.

I’m hoping that I can foster a love of reading in my sons as well. I seriously cannot wait until they are old enough that I can read my old Hardy Boys books to them.

Leave a Comment...

