Extremely Anticipated Film

A few years ago, I finished reading a novel and had a sudden urge to turn back to page 1 and read it again immediately. It was that good. The novel was “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer. It was a story about an inventive boy in New York who loses his father on 9/11 and embarks on a sort of scavenger hunt throughout the city.

It’s a beautiful story that is presented in a beautiful way. Foer’s works often have an artistic element to the books themselves and this one is no exception. Here’s a page spread from this book:

These visually rich elements make Foer’s novels essentially e-book-proof (especially in the case of “Tree of Codes”), and while I love my Kindle, I love reading real books more.

About 4 years ago, I heard that the film rights for this novel had been bought and production would soon begin. Now, a big name cast is in place and the film is on the verge of release. Here is the first trailer:

I looks like a very promising adaptation. I’m trying to keep my expectations low as the multi-layered storylines of the book would probably be difficult to incorporate into a film. The adaptation of Foer’s first novel, “Everything is Illuminated” was a good film, but the exclusion of one particular element of the book’s storyline made it slightly disappointing for me.

I’m hopeful that this production captures the wonder and sorrow of the book. If it does, it will be a truly great film. It hits theaters on Christmas Day.

Leave a Comment...

