I’ve been listening to a lot of new m…

I’ve been listening to a lot of new music lately and there is a lot of good stuff out there right now. I thought I’d give a quick rundown of some of my new favorites.

Bat for Lashes – Two Suns
Natasha Khan’s trippy, ethereal poetry takes another step forward on her sophomore album. The song “Daniel” has been getting a lot of attention, and it’s well-deserved. 

Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band – Outer South
Conor’s extended break from his Bright Eyes persona continues, but with much better results than his last outing. This disc features better songs and more of a band feel that was missing from his last. Great driving music.
Manchester Orchestra – Mean Everything to Nothing

I haven’t really liked this band up until now. This album is a drastic stylistic departure for them, turning to a more hard-edged sound. I absolutely LOVE the song “I’ve Got Friends” that’s been playing a lot on The Current lately.


Metric – Fantasies


Metric has been around for awhile, but I’ve been late the party. This new disc is a fun synth-pop romp that pulls you in quickly. The opener, “Help, I’m Alive”, is impossible to ignore.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!


More stylistic change. The YYYs have always been known for their punky guitar riffs and the unmistakable vocals of Karen O. This album finds them relying more on dance beats and synth washes. It actually fits them really well, making this disc a fun listen.


St. Vincent – Actor


Annie Clark’s last album was delightful in its experimentation. Her 2nd collection of songs picks up where she last left off, but with an air of even more confidence. Her talent is fast becoming undeniable. 

Silversun Pickups – Swoon

Comparisons to the Smashing Pumpkins will not die, but this band has a talent all their own. This disc hasn’t grabbed me quite like their first one did, but their style is on full display in this strong release.
What albums have captured your attention so far this year?
One thought on “I’ve been listening to a lot of new m…

  1. How did you get the new Conor Oberst and Manchester albums!?Anyways I’m a huge Manchester Orchestra fan, I actually just bought tickets to their show coming up. It’ll be the fourth time I’ve seen them… needless to say they are awesome live… you should totally come. Rachel is coming so maybe Becky would want to come too. I can’t wait for the new album on Tuesday! I’m also really digging the new Metric album. Help I’m Alive is the song of the year so far.

Leave a Comment...

