Light Painting

Last week I read decided to use my digital camera do try my hand at light painting. Light painting involves opening the camera’s shutter for an extended period of time and using various lights to “paint” on the exposure. In order to do this, you must have a very dark room to shoot in and a tripod to keep the camera still to capture the light. I thought it would be tricky, but it turned out to be really easy and really fun! Becky even joined in for some shots. If you have a camera that allows you to manipulate the shutter speed (in my case, my camera has a “night sky” mode and I can use that to set the shutter speed for up to 60 seconds), I suggest you give light painting a try!

Here’s a sampling of some of our paintings:

2 thoughts on “Light Painting

  1. I’m not sure about iphoto/movie (being a stalwart PC user), but Picasa does this really well. You just upload the photos into an album, click share, pick how big you want it and embed the code. Slick.

Leave a Comment...

