Music Monday

The hype machine can make or break a band. Sadly, a poor rating by Pitchfork can bury a great album. At the same time, some bands with great potential can actualize it with a good review there. I’ll be the first to say that Pitchfork is highly overrated and many of their darling albums are pretty lame. But here’s a little band that I first heard on The Current a few months ago that now has a huge audience thanks in part to a “Best New Music” tag, but mostly thanks to a fresh and unique sound.

Here is Vampire Weekend. Their sound is literally unlike anything I’ve heard. A mix of indie rock, punk, classical and African pop. A combination that sounds odd on paper (or pixels) works amazingly well thanks to the tight arrangments and striking vocal work.

My first run through the LP left me intrigued, but I wasn’t sure if it was really my thing. A second listen, however, cemented my opinion that this album is worthy of the hype. Definitely more worthy than a similar small band Pitchfork wet their pants over: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Ugh.

Don’t be afraid to listen! This band is worth your attention! Here are two of my favorites off their eponymous debut.

Vampire Weekend – Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa

Vampire Weekend – M79

3 thoughts on “Music Monday

  1. The jury is still out on this band for me. However, I think they’ve got a shot… We’ll seeIn other news, I finally picked up the Of Montreal album from last year. It is the musical equivalent of an acid trip…….but a good acid trip.Seriously. I listened to it for the first time yesterday on my way to work. I was actually, physically dizzy when I got there. Especially from Gronlandic Edit. I keep coming back to that song though.

  2. I LOVE this band! Thanks for “making” me listen to their album. I liked them immediately, which doesn’t happen very often for me, but when it does, the band turns out to be one of my favorites. Thank you Peter, and Vampire Weekend, for making my life richer.

  3. Nerdery request…but you can put the full posts in the RSS feed? I’m sure it’s a blogspot setting somewhere…?Thanks. This concludes your daily dose of commenter demands.

Leave a Comment...

