Music Monday


The story behind the success of Swedish songsmith Jens Lekman is a great one. He started out recording his songs at home all on his own and released them by passing out CD-R’s to people at his concerts. These people quickly caught on to his unique style and incredible songwriting. In 2003 (when Jens was 22), he released a vinyl EP that generated lots of buzz on the web. Soon, the EP was released on CD by an independant Swedish label and sold very well, prompting Secretly Canadian to release the disc overseas.

Lekman’s music is striking. His laid back baritone vocals croon songs that are often painfully meloncholy. The music behind the words is typically acoustic guitar punctuated with samples, horns and strings. For me, the songwriting is defintely what stands out the most. His story songs are so poignant and heartfelt.

The first song of his that I heard is called “Maple Leaves.” The words are so amazing that I’m going to post them here along with the mp3.

Maple Leaves by Jens Lekman

It’s autumn in Gothenburg
I’m walking home to my suburb
Rain falls hard on the city
on every homeless kitty

Oh please god bring relief
even if it’s only brief

cause she said that we were just make-believe
but I thought she said maple leaves

So we talked for hours
and you cried into my sheets
you said you hated your body
that it was just a piece of meat, I disagreed

I think you’re beautiful
but it’s impossible
to make you understand
that if you don’t take my hand
I’ll lose my mind completely
Madness will finally defeat me

She said it was all make-belief
but I thought you said maple leaves
and when she talked about a fall
I thought she talked about a season
I never understood at all

I thought she said maple leaves
and when she talked about about the fall
I thought she talked about Mark E Smith
I never understood at all
I never understood at all
I never understood at all

Jens Lekman – Maple Leaves

Jens Lekman – The Opposite of Hallelujah

One thought on “Music Monday

  1. Hi,My name is Darren. My wife and I have been going to Hiawatha for a few months now. We haven’t met you yet but Michael Devereaux told me about your blog a few weeks ago and I’ve been reading it ever since. I’m a huge fan of music and love hearing other peoples thoughts on it. Hope to meet you sometime soon.LaterDarrenPS I’m on last.fm, my screen name is musicfindsme.

Leave a Comment...

