Music Monday

This week’s Music Monday highlights one of my favorite electronica acts, M83. The band currently has one full-time member, frenchman Anthony Gonzalez. The band was formed as a two person electronica project with the second member being Nicolas Fromageau, but Nicolas left the band after a difficult touring blitz in support of their popular second album Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts. Gonzalez continued making music under the M83 name and released a third album entitled Before the Dawn Heals Us. Just last month he also released an ambient project called Digital Shades, Volume 1 (which is really, really good if you like ambient music) and he plans to release a proper M83 album this January (though delays are expected).

My experience with the band started with Dead Cities, which I picked up at Cheapo. I loved the electronica/shoegaze sound and bought Before the Dawn when it released. That disc quickly became a staple in my musical rotation.

Becky and I were fortunate enough to see the band perform live at the Triple Rock Social Club a couple of years ago and I was blown away. I had never seen a band blend electronica and a live band to such great effect before. While the loops and synths gave groundwork to the songs, the guitars and drums pushed the sound into every corner. It was a rock show that happened to feature plenty of digital underpinning. Very cool.

Here I’ll feature two of my favorite tracks from Before the Dawn. First up is the song that M83 entered the stage with at the concert, In the Cold I’m Standing. Second is my favorite track from the album, which happens to be the closer. It’s called Lower Your Eyelids to Die With the Sun. At my old job I was able to bring my iPod and listen to music through much of my day (which helped curtail cubicle fever). For a few months, I listened to this song every day as I was finishing up for the day. It was just the right thing to do. Listen and maybe you’ll feel it.

M83 – In the Cold I’m Standing

M83 – Lower Your Eyelids to Die With the Sun

P.S. I’m putting the finishing touches on a new Digital Mix CD. Look for that to be posted sometime this week.

Leave a Comment...

