I feel this is necessary.

Arcade Fire is a great, great band. Read the lyrics for their song “My Body is a Cage” which is chock full of Christian themes. Then watch the two live videos of their performance in Glastonbury earlier this year. I hope you’ll reconsider.

Thank you.

My Body is a Cage by Arcade Fire

My body is a cage
That keeps me from dancing with the one I love,
But my mind holds the key.

My body is a cage
That keeps me from dancing with the one I love,
But my mind holds the key.

I’m standing on a stage
Of fear and self-doubt.
It’s a hollow play,
But they’ll clap anyway

My body is a cage
That keeps me from dancing with the one I love
But my mind holds the key.
You’re standing next to me.
My mind holds the key.

I’m living in an age
That calls darkness light
Though my language is dead
Still the shapes fill my head.

I’m living in an age
Whose name I don’t know
Though the fear keeps me moving
Still my heart beats so slow

My body is a cage
That keeps me from dancing with the one I love
But my mind holds the key.
You’re standing next to me.
My mind holds the key.
My body is a …

My body is a cage.
We take what we’re given,
Just because you’ve forgotten,
that don’t mean you’re forgiven.

I’m living in an age
That screams my name at night
But when I get to the doorway
There’s no one in sight.

My body is a cage
That keeps me from dancing with the one I love
But my mind holds the key.

You’re standing next to me
My mind holds the key.

Set my spirit free.
Set my spirit free.
Set my body free.

My Body is a Cage by Arcade Fire

4 thoughts on “I feel this is necessary.

  1. Hey Peter. Don’t get me wrong–I understand why other people like this band. I just don’t think that I can be one of them. I watched the videos…they’re very passionate about the music they’re making. No question about that. It just doesn’t really do anything for me.Oh, and “My Body is a Cage” could be the Gnostic anthem. But I don’t think you could call it Christian in any respect.Sorry, Pete. You know I love your music taste. But on this issue, ‘…there’s just you and me, and we just disagree.’=)

  2. I’m with Tim.And as someone who values artistry over what I’ll dub the U2 complex (It’s better to love bands that allude to being Christian than to like a band just because you like them). Maybe I’m reading into this too much, but as the son of an evangelical worship leader my entire life, I’ve just become too tired of having to justify to people why I like a band who’s only criteria is what christian box they can force them into.Wow, talk about an oversensitive rant. I’m only this cynical most of the time. Don’t take it personally. I’m more talking about my upbringing than anything you did or said.And I still don’t like the Arcade Fire. I’ve tried. I was living in Seattle, and the Arcade Fire was all over the airwaves. I have both of their albums, and I’ve probably given each one around 3-5 listens spread out over months. Sorry.

  3. This is great! I appreciate the responses! I really thrive on this kind of discussion.Some further thoughts:First of all, yes “My Body is a Cage” is more Gnostic than overtly Christian-themed. However, I do see some theological value to the lyrics, particularly the feeling of being imprisoned in the physical world and longing to be set free to dance with the Creator God. I’m also not appealing to your sensibilites as Christians by saying since this band writes somewhat Christian-y lyrics they must be praised without question. Secondly, I completely respect both of you in your dislike for this band. I really hope I didn’t come across as one of those “You MUST like this band or you’re not cool” kind of people. I merely wanted to make sure you experience what I feel are some of this band’s better songs before dismissing them as “not your style”. I am always disappointed when people write off a band based on them being “too popular now” or other such nonsense. Bands should be judged in a vacuum.There is indeed no accounting for TASTE in music. I, for example, strongly dislike the music of Nickel Creek and David Crowder Band. While I acknowledge that they have great talent as musicians and songwriters, I just do not care for them and there is probably nothing anyone can to to “convince me” to like them, unless they change their musical styles significantly on their future albums. That’s just the way it is.

  4. Well said, Peter. I’m actually really surprised that I don’t like this band. Most of my buds that I go to for music advice DO really like them.Oh, and btw, I think I fell off the David Crowder bandwagon. The most recent album was…not good. I was really saddened by it.

Leave a Comment...

