Music Monday

Band of Horses got their start as a band called “Carissa’s Wierd” [sic]. Strangely enough, that band did not last and upon breaking up some members coalesced into a BOH. Their debut self-titled EP garnered plenty of press and got them signed by Indie superlabel SubPop. They released their first LP “Everything All the Time” in 2006 to much fanfare.

Their musical style is often compared to My Morning Jacket, mostly due to the rich reverb the vocals carry. Their instrumentation is almost Americana, but with a decidedly Indie vibe. Again, similar to MMJ.

Band of Horses recently released their second LP called “Cease to Begin”. The cover art is some of the most beautiful I’ve seen lately (pictured at right). I don’t know what it is about that picture, but I really like it.

Here, for your listening pleasure, are two tracks to introduce you to the music of Band of Horses. First, a track from their newest album. Second, a great track off their first LP. That track is called “St. Augustine”. The lyrics are cryptic at best, but the chorus does seem to address the life of the saint.

I know you tried
I know you’re cursed
I know your best was still your worst
When Hollywood was calling out your name.
“Saint Augustine.”

Band of Horses – Is There a Ghost? (from Cease to Begin)

Band of Horses – St. Augustine (from Everything All the Time)

These songs can be downloaded by clicking on the embedded players. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Music Monday

  1. I just don’t get what people see in this band. The guy’s vocals drive me crazy–it’s like the 80’s are happening all over again. I didn’t like them the first time.I put them in a category with Arcade Fire and The National as bands I’m supposed to like but don’t.Oh well. There’s no accounting for taste, right?

  2. Hello. I’m a friend of Tim’s, and have been reading for like 9 months now, and have never posted a comment. BOH will get me to comment.I like them, quite a bit actually, but I don’t think they’re great. I like his voice. I saw them in Chicago like a month ago. It was a great show. I can’t decide if I liked Carissa’s Wierd better or not. Some of their tracks were incredible. Also, the album art is mirrored after South Carolina’s state flag.Additionally, I HATE HATE HATE the arcade fire because anyone thinks they’re great. I think they are so boring to listen to. AND the National is good, and very enjoyable to listen to for some reason. There’s nothing really standout about them. I just like’em.

Leave a Comment...

