Worship Music

Three straight days of posting??? I really do have a life, I promise. But I had something I really wanted to share.

Today I ran across this blog from Brett McCracken in which he masterfully explains his problem with most “worship music”. Please, please read it. It contains some of the best thoughts on the topic I’ve read. He really points out some glaring flaws in the CCM industry (especially when it comes to making “worship” into a genre of music).

A couple great quotes from his blog:

It’s an industry. How bizarre and kind of disgusting that branding your
music as “worship” and selling it as an “experience” earns the most money in
CCM.

It turns its nose up at good writing. Most worship music wallows in bad water
imagery, fire metaphor, or pseudo-sexual verbiage (“Jesus your love is
ravishing, intoxicating, orgasmic, etc).

One perfect example of this so-called “pseudo-sexual verbiage” is the popular song “Your Love is Extravagant”. Here are the lyrics to the first verse:

“Your love is extravagant. Your friendship, it is intimate. I feel I’m
moving to the rhythm of Your grace. Your fragrance is intoxicating in the
secret place. Cause Your love is extravagant.”

I’ve felt for years now that the most worshipful CD that I own is ( ) by Sigur Ros. Sigur Ros is an Icelandic band that sings in their native language on all their discs except this one. On this one they sing in a non-sensical, made-up language. Their goal was to use the human voice as if it were an instrument. The result is a beautiful, symmetrical concept album that hits hard in a very spiritual way for me. I’m not even sure why, but it’s the truth.

I’d like to see Hiawatha Church push beyond the established boundaries of “worship culture” and find new ways to praise God. If you have thoughts about this article or worship in general, leave a comment. I’d love to hear what you think.

One thought on “Worship Music

  1. Peter, first of all, good post.The lyrical “lewdness” of CCM is an issue I’ve been bothered by too, although sadly I am coming to terms with it more or less. I think at least part of it stems from Western culture being completely obsessed with sex, such that sex has become the standard of what feeling good is. So in that way, CCM is just being culturally relevant… never mind.At the same time, think it really is possible to be ministered to, and deeply affected by God during praise songs. I’d just hate if, in our reaction against selling the worship “experience” that we made the opposite mistake and prevented that from happening. So what I’m saying is it’s definitely time to change the bathwater, but let’s just be sure we don’t throw the baby out as well.

Leave a Comment...

