The destruction of fond memories

My favorite cartoon growing up was Scooby-Doo, and it wasn’t even close. That show was (and still is) so great! Imagine my excitement when I heard they were turning it into a live action movie. I was thrilled! I imagined a feature length episode of the show, perhaps with a twist where the monsters were somehow real? Or maybe an origins story about how the gang got together! Either way, I thought it could be like an “Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein“-type film, scary in a funny way. What did I get? THIS:

A stupid teen movie where the gang is a parody of itself, Scooby and Shaggy are constantly making drug innuendos, Fred is a sleezy horndog and the movie itself is just cheap. Sad! The sequel was better, but hardly. I liked that they brought back villians from the old show, but it was again a teen-movie packaged as Scooby Doo. Why market it to teen who weren’t alive when the show was on??? Not even Linda Cardellini could save these “films”.

I also loved the Transformers and I feel that their motion picture treatment was highly successful. However, now this movie poster is floating around the ‘net:

Another show I loved as a child is about to be butchered on the big screen. I don’t need to know anything more about this movie; the poster tells all.
Dear Hollywood,
Stay away from The Smurfs! Haven’t you done enough damage to my childhood?!??!
Whew!
/rant
Leave a Comment...

