Music Monday

This week I’m highlighting St. Vincent, who is about to release one of my most anticipated records of the year.

St. Vincent is the moniker of one Annie Clark. While the name may not ring a bell, Annie is already an indie music veteran of the highest rank. She has toured with the likes of John Vanderslice, The Polyphonic Spree, Sufjan Stevens, and most recently Arcade Fire! Not a bad way to start a career!

Oh, and also she’s all of 24 years old.

She released a solo EP in 2006 entitled Paris is Burning. Now, on July 10th, she’s ready to unveil her debut LP called Marry Me.

I have to say that judging what I’ve heard from the EP and some trickling tracks from the LP, her musicianship is incredible. It reminds me quite a lot of Sufjan actually (which is a high compliment in my book). Her voice is lilting and charming, oscillating between indie rock and ritzy lounge music. Her lyrics are equally fun loving and alluring. On the title track from Marry Me, she whispers “Marry me, John. I’ll be so good to you. You won’t realize I’m gone.”

Here you’ll find two tracks to whet your appetite for this album. I hope you find them as lovely as I do. Check out St. Vincent’s MySpace here.

St. Vincent – Paris is Burning (from the EP of the same name)

St. Vincent – Now, Now (from the forthcoming LP Marry me)

One thought on “Music Monday

Leave a Comment...

