The Fly in the Ointment

As some (or most) of you know, I was blessed to start a new job this past Monday. I’m now working at Aveda up in Blaine in their microbiology lab. We do testing on the products that come off the lines and make sure that they are not contaminated with any “bugs”. My duties include supporting the principle microbiologists by doing the lab upkeep and making media to grow samples on. I also handle plating controls and water samples from the plant’s water purifiers. So far, I really like it….except for one tiny thing.

The staff in the lab like to listen to the radio throughout the day and the station of choice is the one pictured on the right. Being a self-confessed music junkie, this station is like pouring hydrochloric acid directly into my cochleas. First of all, Dave the morning show DJ is one of the most annoying people I’ve ever heard on the radio. On Thursday morning, one of their segments featured a woman calling in saying her current live-in boyfriend was constantly mentioning his ex-girlfriend and she worried he wanted to go back to her. The DJ’s called the boyfriend and blatently lied to him, telling him he’d won a dozen roses to be delivered to any one in the country. He asked for them to be sent to his ex. This prompted an on-air tirade from his current girlfriend and some light DJ banter on the subject! Ugh!! They also feature an hourly segment of “Dirt” on celebrity gossip (mostly having to do with Britney Spears or Anna Nicole Smith’s estate) and seemingly constant speculation about American Idol.

Then there’s the music. I heard the same song 5 times today between 7am and noon: “Don’t Matter” by someone called Akon. The hook plays about 10 times during the 3 minute song, so I heard the chorus about 50 times. The lyrics are: “Nobody want to see us together, but it don’t matter…no (‘cuz I’ve got you)”. Seriously, 50 times. Also, the only guitars I have heard thus far belonged to……Nickelback. Apparently they are the only rock band the kids like these days. But “it don’t matter” that all their songs are the SAME SONG!!?! To prove it, here’s a mix of their first two hits played at the same time:

Nickelback – How You Remind Me of Someday

I realize I sound like an old man telling the kids to get off his lawn, but I am seriously concerned about how this station is affecting those who listen to it. Particularly those under age 18 or so. And since I’m assuming that most of the people who may read this don’t listen to the station, I feel it important to expose the issue.

But hey, at least it’s not a country station….

9 thoughts on “The Fly in the Ointment

  1. Crazy! How did you mix them together like that? That was a weird experience.Anyway, here’s a “Would you rather…” for you. Would you rather listen to KTIS or KDWB all day long?

  2. So I heard a country song last night (my wife had it on the radio) and a guy sang about his grandma. The next guy sang about a preacher and a farmer, AND his grandma. I mean, who sings about their grandma these days?I don’t get country.

  3. I can do you one better. I work with a few Filipinos. The music selection is, a mix of Barry Manilow, Ace of Base, Britney Spears, InSync, or was it the Backstreet Boys, a little Ricky Martin, and Celine Dion. This mixed in with Led Zeppelin’s Stairway to Heaven, and a few Lynyrd Skynyrd and Steve Miller Band songs.Which would you prefer.

  4. Peter…I’m so, so sorry. Have you taken to mocking their music choices yet? I advise a slow, erosion type whining…Or begin singing the songs in a really mocking voice.OR, throw the radio through the window.Best of luck…

  5. Ouch. Sorry Petey. I tend to get emotional connected to the music I listen to. And for what little I have heard of KDWB, it would take it’s toll on me. Whether you like the music or not, the message of the music and the DJ’s is usually horrible.Maybe we can all chip in and get you an iPod. Who knows maybe this would be a good door opener for Christ? Stay strong Petey!

  6. Last year, I moonlighted at pizza hut to pay the bills, and the radio dial never moved off the mariachi station. What the crap.What I came to hate the most was the tuba. Sooooo much tuba. It’s like somebody thought that tuba and bass guitar were interchangeable. And also tuba and drums. Every song I heard made me hate the tuba more, to the point where I promised myself that if I ever got one chance to use a time machine, I would go back and throttle the dude who invented the tuba.

  7. Congrats on the job, despite the music. I worked in a factory for two years and they rotated radio stations for each day of the week. Thursday was the hiphop channel where I was sure they listened to the same 5 songs over and over again. It appears that you have gotten some great suggestions on how to combat the situation.

Leave a Comment...

